Taking a disciplinary approach to RE

Below is a recording of my talk for the “Curriculum Conversations” event organised by the amazing Wayne Buisst who can be found at https://twitter.com/Buisst_Teaching.

If you had asked me just two years ago about a multi-disciplinary approach to RE teaching or disciplinary knowledge I would have looked at you in a blank and confused manner. Over the past two years I have been on a huge and steep learning curve and I think it has transformed my teaching for the better.

Whilst I am a fan of the disciplinary approach it is important to consider what this approach can do for your department because we are all in different contexts. I give a range of answers to the “But why?” question which range from defending your territory to increasing challenge. I also suggest how you could give a disciplinary approach to an existing curriculum and practical ideas for a department meeting.

It is also important that we are honest about the challenges of this approach and so at the end I talk about my own personal areas of development in this approach.

As a Blackpool lass I am known for my plain speaking and at times risque humour, on this occasion though I have completely innocently started my talk with a double entendre. I apologise in advance!

Useful links:

The Balanced RE site with the primary and secondary audits

Knowledge and The Future School by Michael Young was a gamechanger of a book for me

Whilst I have learned a lot, there is so much more for me to learn and do and so I am always happy to have an RE chat over on twitter.

Published by rewithmrsmcgee

I have been teaching for about 15 years in schools in Greater London, Wakefield, Blackpool and for the last 10 years in Dorset. For much of my career I have worked in pastoral roles but in 2016 I took over as the Head of Philosophy, Religion and Ethics at Lytchett Minster School. In 2020 I moved to Norfolk to be the trust lead for RE for Inspiration Trust. I see myself as a traditionalist, believing in strong discipline, high expectations of myself and my students and a knowledge rich curriculum in which the teacher is sharing their expertise rather than being a guide on the side.

2 thoughts on “Taking a disciplinary approach to RE

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started